Header
Banner picture for About Us page for Mid-West Truckers Association

The Mid-West Truckers Association (MTA) began in 1961 when four, small trucking company owners wanted to create a purchasing pool to be able to buy group insurance and tires at competitive rates. 

As the trucking industry grew, the founding members of MTA realized the difficulty of keeping up with the regulations within the trucking industry.  It was then that the MTA became the "eyes and ears" of its members.  MTA now provides a wide range of member services, including federally-mandated drug and alcohol testing, licensing and title service, self-funded workers compensation programs, training, and education.


The membership of MTA is over 3,500 members strong and encompasses 15 states across the United States.  Our members are comprised of both trucking companies and companies that operate trucks as a part of their business.

It is our mission to be considered a leader, representing the trucking industry in the Midwest as we work closely with all state and federal agencies. 

Our dedicated staff holds seats on regional and national advisory boards, which allows the voice of MTA members to be heard when new regulations cross the desks of legislators.

Don Schaefer
Executive Vice President
dons@midwesttruckers.com

  • Legislative Activities
  • Designated Highways
  • General Questions on Trucking Rules & Regulations and Government Agencies
  • Annual Convention
  • Member Concerns/Complaints
  • Training & Safety Programs
  • Keep on Truckin’ News Magazine and Advertising
  • Hazmat Questions

Matt Wells
Associate Director
mattw@midwesttruckers.com

  • Legislative Activities
  • Government Agencies
  • Member Concern/Complaints
  • Regional Advisory Board
  • Farm Trucking Regulations
  • MTA, Truck Show, and Midwest Service Corporation Web Sites
  • Law Enforcement / Commercial Truck Enforcement
  • Logbook / Hours-Of-Service Questions

Jackie S. Billings
Secretary/Treasurer
jackieb@midwesttruckers.com

  • Accounts Payable
  • Insurance Billings
  • Workers’ Compensation Program
  • Storm Water Permit Program
  • Annual Convention Exhibits, Registration & Hotel Reservations
  • Profit & Cost Seminar Registration
  • Video Library

Diana McMahan
Membership Coordinator
dianam@midwesttruckers.com

  • Membership
  • Bail Bond Cards
  • Accounts Receivable (Except Drug & Alcohol)

Kathy Day
Motor Carrier Compliance
kathyd@midwesttruckers.com

Diane Cole
Motor Carrier Compliance
dianec@midwesttruckers.com

  • IRP/Fiscal Licensing & IRP Temps
  • Illinois Overdimension Permits
  • Fuel Tax Questions & Reporting Service
  • Intra / Interstate Authority
  • Insurance Requirements
  • DOT Safety Compliance
  • Process Agents
  • 2290 HVUT Filing
  • Pre-Employment Screening Program (PSP)
  • CSA Evaluations
  • MCS 150 Updates
  • UCR Electronic Filing
  • Title Processing
  • Data Q Assistance

Candy Wendt
Drug & Alcohol Supervisor
candyw@midwesttruckers.com

  • Drug & Alcohol Program Regulations & Policies
  • Drug-Free Workplace Questions and Policies
  • Medical Marijuana Questions

Jennifer Grider
Drug & Alcohol Testing Coordinator jenniferg@midwesttruckers.com

Kathy Krebs
Drug & Alcohol Testing      Coordinator
kathyk@midwesttruckers.com

Carrie Roth
Drug & Alcohol Testing Coordinator
carrier@midwesttruckers.com

  • Schedule Drug and/or Alcohol Testing
  • Answer Questions on Drug & Alcohol Testing, Billing or Results
  • Drug & Alcohol Supervisor Training











Are you in it for the long haul ?


BECOME A MEMBER TODAY!